Bread

September 1, 2007 at 12:00 am | Posted in Food Friday | 1 Comment

Yesterday I was with some friends, Jen and Marianne, who wanted me to show them how I make my bread. So, I figured I would show you all out in blogworld too.

We started making our bread about a year ago. Mostly because we are allergic to dairy and my daughter is allergic to soy. And yes, most commercial bread either has whey (dairy) or soy (soy flour, soy protein, etc.). But aside from that, most commercial bread is not really that good for you with enriched flours, high fructose corn syrup, and preservatives.

Here is how I make my bread –

First of all, I use a Mill and a Bosch mixer. I love my mill (and if you’re picturing some big thing with a crank, that would not be the one I use. Mine is so simple, it is crazy). I decided if I was going to make my own bread, I wanted to reap the full benefits. You see, when you freshly mill the flour it keeps all the live enzymes in the flour so your body can digest it better and you reap all the full benefits of whole grain. The Bosch is great because it is about the only thing that can handle the whole wheat well. And because the Bosch does such a great job at mixing it, there is no need to Knead by hand.

So, I mill the grain.
Put 7 cups of warm water in mixing bowl.
5 Tbsp of yeast (I use Fleischman’s instant yeast)
5 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups oil (I use Safflower oil)
1 1/2 cups honey

Blend it all just for 1 minute on lowest speed.
Then while blender is still running, add in flour until is starts pulling away from walls of the bowl. (now I can’t really be sure how much flour this is…probably about 16 cups.)
Blend it all for 12 minutes on low speed.

Then I can shape it into just about anything I want. I have made dinner rolls, loaves for sandwich bread, pizza dough, and my favorite is cinnamon swirl bread! This makes about 6 loaves.

Additional note – It is probably a good idea to halve the recipe unless you have a Bosch, otherwise it won’t mix properly.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very cool, Jill. Maybe I’ll try my hand at it, too.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

