Kim’s Story

May 21, 2007 at 2:34 pm | Posted in Story Spotlight | 1 Comment

I wanted to start some posts under the category “Story Spotlight”. This will be a place where I highlight individuals and their stories in health and nutrition. Today I wanted to share about my friend, Kim.

Recently I was very excited to run into some friends of mine that moved away a few years ago. The bizarre thing was that we ran into each other in BIG Atlanta where neither one of us lives (but we were both visiting people)! It was so great to see them. One of the things we began talking about is nutrition. We discovered in talking that we have both changed in our eating and lifestyles. And I was very excited and challenged when I heard Kim’s story. So, I asked her if I could share it with you.

I think there is a spiritual & Biblical responsibility to be good stewards of the gifts we’ve been given, our bodies! I have become passionate about health and want to share it with people I love, whether it be family or friends. I have to tell you first, that I am a complete food addict. Last year, I went through Celebrate Recovery for a year (it’s like AA for addictions, hurts, abuse, etc), one reason being to face my addictions to food. It came down to being a spiritual matter for me…I was turning to food instead of God for comfort, like most everyone else out there who has issues with food. I realized at that time that I was really an addict because food to me is like a drug. I have never been overweight so people have always laughed at my gorging saying they wish they had my metabolism. Overeating has been a big problem my whole life. So now that I have faced my demons (but still really struggle with them) my husband & I don’t want our child to be the same way. We want to start her life physically but also mentally healthy. I think we as parents have such a responsiblity to our kids, and on the American diet, parents are actually killing them.

I was so challenged by her story. It was great to hear her heart and desire to see how we can really overlook the importance of being good stewards with our bodies.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’ve had some great posts lately! I loved Kim’s story. What she said about American parents killing their children is RIGHT ON . . . it resonates with me because I feel, too, that it is MY responsibility to take care of my body (God’s temple), and my children, and to share information with everyone around me so that they can make better choices, too- IF they choose.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

