Food Friday

April 20, 2007 at 5:04 pm | Posted in Food Friday | 6 Comments

I have decided to do what I am calling “Food Friday” posts. These will be about recipes, restaurants, and other thoughts about food. So, today I am going to write about a new favorite recipe I found. I was telling my friend, Amy about it and she was surprised to hear that I ate something with squash and zuchinni in it. And I told her how I even warned Jason the first time we had it that it was pretty healthy, but to bear with me. Well, we both really liked it. And Jason even went back for seconds! Another bonus is that it is very simple! So, here it is:

red pepper pestoPasta with Red Pepper Pesto
12 oz jar Roasted Red Peppers (drained)
1 cup firmly packed basil leaves
1 clove garlic minced
1 pound yellow squash and zuchinni (im small 1/2 cirlce slices)
2 tsp oil
1 14 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 package whole wheat spaghetti

Cook pasta. Saute zuchinni and squash in oil. In blender, blend the red peppers, basil and garlic until basil is finely chopped. Pour into zuchinni and squash and add tomatoes. Stir all together and heat through. Serve over pasta.

So, enjoy!!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] experiences. So come on over and let me know what you think. Today I posted a new favorite recipe of […]

  2. Hey there! I accepted your invitation to “come on over” to your health blog site. The recipe above seems interesting, so I will have to give it a try sometime soon! Now, hear’s a dumb question (forgive my lack of knowledge)…can you purchase whole wheat spaghetti in a regular grocery store, or do I need to buy it from a health foods store? I haven’t ever paid attention to the variety of products in the pasta aisle before, so I wasn’t sure right off the bat if I can get the wheat pasta at Publix or not?

  3. Hey Becky. You can buy the whole wheat pasta at Publix. There is a brand called Hodgson Mill that has it. I used to eat that all the time, but have since found this Ronzoni Healthly Harvest in a brown box which I like even better. They have more variety (I prefer the thin spaghetti and penne). I have even found it at Walmart and Target cheaper (which is a bonus). It is just so much better for you than white pasta – it has more protein, fiber, and plus you don’t have the chemical refining you get with white.
    Thanks for asking…and it is not a dumb question. Believe me…I didn’t know any of this stuff years ago and have just spent lots of time researching products and figuring it out. Which is why I did the blog…to share what I have learned and be a resource to others. So, glad I can help. 🙂

  4. Thanks! That will make it easy to be able to do one-stop shopping at Publix. I love the thin spaghetti, too. My favorite it Angel Hair pasta…the thinner, the better!

  5. Yum! This looks easy and delicious. I can’t wait to try it- especially when my basil plant takes off and I’ll have plenty of leaves to use.

  6. […] Jason first saw it he was a little worried but he really liked them! We even served it with our Red Pepper Pesto sauce and it was […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

